Buying “used” vs new yoyo’s

Im looking at buying a few yoyo’s. Is there any advantage to buying new vs used? I certainly don’t want something that is all beat up but also don’t want to pay full retail when I’m just starting out. Do the bearings wear out very often? I see a lot in the buy and sell section here.

Used will be cheaper, just check the pics and descriptions for damage. If they mention M (mint), NM (Near Mint), Like New, etc than there should be little to no damage. So no worries there.

bearings do not go out alot. A good cleaning can fix most that are not doing great. They are cheap enough and common enough that it should be an issue on way or another.

I highly recommend buying used, just look for mint condtion throws and check people’s feedback. Over half of my case is used throws from this forum.

To contrast, the advantages of buying new:

• All the big stores can be trusted. Don’t have to worry about checking trader feedback.
  • You can easily pick the color/design you want
  • No communication needed. Just pick what you want, and pay for it
  • You’re more directly supporting yoyo stores and the manufacturers.

I’ve thought a lot about the last one lately. Buying used does support the stores and manufacturers in an indirect way, if it puts money back into the market that is spent on buying new yoyos. Definitely not the case with a “quitting sale”. My personal philosophy is to buy new if it’s available. I try to only buy used, if it’s no longer available from a store or manufacturer.

I frequently buy used in a lot of situations in life. Fishing gear, musical instruments, cars, etc. Cheaper. Less impact on the environment. etc.

However, I find buying yoyos used to be a 50-50 proposition at best. It really depends on who you are dealing with. A good seller is easy. A bad one can drive you mad. Crappy communication, slow shipping, badly packed, condition not as described, and so on.