'Budget' Metal Label

I have a real distaste for the label ‘budget metal’.

I don’t like it because it seems to infer lower quality and/or performance than more expensive yoyos which is often not true. Many of my favorite, and what I feel are some of my best performing yoyos fall into this category.

What are your thoughts?

I don’t think anyone is thinking low quality or poor play when thinking about the shutter.

I think the word budget has different meanings for different people. Maybe 10 years ago when I was a student, my budget would be much lower than it is now.
To me personally, a budget metal yoyo would be under the $50 mark. That being said I have a Orbis, Horizon, Popstar, and a few plastics. I use them all more than my expensive throws, less worry about damaging them, and they play great for the prices I paid.

I think it’s interesting that it’s called budget metal, but to any non thrower, $50 for a yoyo sounds like you’re taking crazy pills.

1 Like

I agree, the term “budget metal” leaves a bad taste in my mouth. My $30 YYO pause is an absolute tank, It is crazy good. It isn’t just good for the price either, It’s good for a yoyo in general. Sometimes i think that if YYO charged C3 prices for their yoyos, they might be more popular.

When used as an adjective, budget literally just means “inexpensive”, so I’ve never though of it as automatically implying a lack of quality. IMO, it’s a lot nicer sounding than “cheap metal” or “low-end metal”. I’m actually huge fan of “budget metals”, I probably buy them more often than any other type of Yo-Yo :smiley:

1 Like

I would have to say “budget” for me implies something that is cheaper but just as good for top level play.

Take for example something like Magic: The Gathering. Very fun game, but expensive, so we try to make decks which can compete well enough so everyone can have some fun. The analogy will end here since most Modern/Vintage/Etc. tourneys end with winners who have very pricey decks.