Best YoYo to gift?

I’ve given away a bunch of Fizz yoyo’s and 1 spinstar. They’re great for beginners but I don’t feel like they will allow that person to progress very far should they outgrow the “up-down”.

I’m debating trying the YYF One or Whip. Maybe a duncan butterfly? Is the YYF Whip responsive out the of box?

Maybe its safest to stay away from bearing yoyos? I don’t know?

Who has a favorite yoyo they like to give away?

UPDATES:
Fizz ($9.99)
Spinstar ($4.99)
YYF Whip ($5.99)
butterfly XT ($8.99)
yyf One ($9.99) - new bearing and pads for unresponsive
Sage ($12.99)
Veloctiy ($14.99)
YYF Grind Machine ($14.99)
Recess First Base ($19.99)
mojo
speedaholics
replay pro
Duncan Pro Z ($10) - With Mod spacer
Magicyoyos T9 or V3 ($10-15)

7 Likes

I always keep a couple butterfly XT on hand to give away to absolute beginners, it is has nice responsive behavior but still sleeps well enough to learn some tricks. And its very inexpensive. I grabbed a half dozen yyf one when I found them on sale, I gave all those away, the nice thing about the one is a change to full width bearing keeps it semi responsive and then when the player is ready you can swap the pads to make it fully unresponsive. I’ve not tried the whip, but it looks like it might be a really good choice I like its shape better and it costs less than the one. It looks like it has a long axle so going to a full width bearing shouldn’t be a problem. I’ve given away a couple plastic grind machines also, which is fun for people because hubstacks on a responsive yoyo makes for some easy cool tricks. You can upgrade the bearing in a pgm also, but I prefer the way it plays responsive.

I’m also also going to pick up a couple mojo and speedaholics on my next order, to have as loaner or give away unresponsives.

5 Likes