Behind in "Skill Level"

So I’ve been yoyoing off and on for about 3 years now.

In these 3 years, I have discovered that I am far worse at yoyoing than most who have been doing it for the amount of time I have. I have no problem with this, since I prefer to spend my time yoyoing creating more fun, simple tricks than technical, complex combos.

Is anyone else on these forums like this?

If you’re having fun, then you’re doing fine.

Yoyoing isn’t all about super technical and complex combos. Look at players like Hiroyuki Suzuki; Most of his stuff is quite simple but he always places very high in contests.

Don’t worry about being as good as other yo-yoers. Like you said, you spend time making yo-yoing more fun, which is why most people keep yo-yoing as long as you have. I’m still strong after 1.5 years, and I still wake up every morning with the mindset of discovering new concepts, and sharing them with others. Being ‘the best’ isn’t the most important goal yo-yoers should have.
:slight_smile:

Like I said, I don’t care whatsoever about skill, im just trying to have fun. :wink:

Yup.

2 years and progressing like a snail.

Some people are just naturals or give it 100% of their time and energy. I on the other hand use it as a boredom destroyer. It’s not my life, it’s something that makes life better for me. So yes, many people pass me in skill but many also burn out and take long breaks or quit all together. I’ve been yoyoing since I was 5 years old. So I have had a yoyo since…Anyway it’s been a lot of years. I know that my skill will never match the talent I’ve seen here, but I have no doubt that the yoyo and I will always be friends.

In the end, whether it’s an experiment in life, a moments interest, or a life long boredom destroyer, it’s still a wonderful toy that touches each that spend time with it and creates smiles for those around us.

That’s all that matters. Isn’t it?

4 Likes