Ban Appeals

I have noticed that there us no way to get an appeal if you get banned. Let’s say (and this happens a lot for me) that you have a little sibling that, “for fun”, gets on your computer, goes to the first site that’s up (and that happens to be these forums) and post a bunch of profanity and what not. If this results in a ban, and there is no way to have an appeal, then you have just been banned for no reason.

I am in no way insulting the administration, but this is just a feature that I see these forums are lacking.

There is usually a great deal of communication that occurs, back channel, when people are banned. As I’m relatively new to the mod team, I must say the ammount of discussion that takes place regarding any ban, other than a spam bot, is fairly intensive and involves many moderators and admin. I personally have been impressed with the dedication of the mods and admins in taking care of everyone. Bans are never taken lightly.

I know that it may appear to you that there is no “voice” but there indeed is. You, as a member may get one perspective from the dialogue in the forum, however you miss all the pms and other info the mods and admins have access to. In other words you only get to see a part of the picture. It just wouldn’t be right for us to share everything.

I’m not saying that all decisions are perfect, but I’m saying that they are very carefully made and if you follow the rules and take care of your account there really is no reason to ever be banned.

As far as siblings go…that’s why you have a pw, and protecting one’s account is one’s personal responsibility. We can’t have everyone blaming a sibling for what’s said on the forum, people would just take advantage of that immediatley.

True this is why on the forums I go on my iPod because it has a password

If you feel you have been wrongly banned you can also send a note to:
Contact@YoYoExpert.com