Are ceramic bearings better?

Honest question. I have a fairly beat up Civility… I have smoothed and polished the rims to smooth it out. When I got it it had a Koncave bearing in it (obviously swapped it out for a flat…just kidding).

However I have wondered since I got it if it would be better with the original ceramic that it was designed with. Or would a ceramic bearing in any of my throws be worth it.

Are they smoother? Spin faster? Spin longer? I was thinking of using a ceramic centering bearing in one yoyo to “train” on. One that maximized the spin and stability for learning new tricks.

2 Likes

Assuming you are talking about pure ceramic. I have been testing a bunch out for a few months and my take away is I would only use them in a few very specific instances. In summary, there is not “performance” boost that would be noticeable, or at least small enough that other effects are more important to consider. (If you are talking about hybrids, my experience is they are indistinguishable from normal bearings).

Somehow my batch of ceramics (bought from different locations), are all on the tight side. So if I got a loose bearing post, i test out a ceramic to see if that would reduce some vibe.

Second is, if I have a yoyo I really wish it would be .5-1 gram lighter, i would switch to a ceramic.