Anyone else ever have this dilemma?

So I have been throwing a yoyo for about 18 months now and have been really enjoying it but go through periods where I lose motivation.

The issue I have identified is that my interest in general piques when I am buying new throws or looking at new throws. I have gotten to an age and stage in life where I am no longer much of a consumer but for some reason with yoyos I want loads in each and every colour etc. I spend more time some days looking at throws than throwing and it annoys me, it kind of seems dumb!

I think part of the reason for this is that buying feels like it keeps me in the loop with the yoyo community , there are next to no throwers in my country, I dont realistically expect to ever see someone out throwing a yoyo. If I could join a club and go have real world conversations with humans and discuss and learn tricks then that would be the answer but I cant.

Probably a bit of a longwinded question but to summarise:

How do I stay motivated purely to the throwing side of things and block out the temptation to buy more? If any of you have done this I would love to hear your experience.

6 Likes

Modeling and 3D printing my own yo-yos helped me with the same dilemma. Still buy yo-yos here and there, but it’s drastically reduced when you can get that “try a new throw” sensation anytime you want for a dollar or two in filament cost.

4 Likes

Would love to 3d print a few counterweights for sure, not having access to a 3d printer throws a spanner in the works though! It must be really satisfying to design, make and then throw your own, even if it wasnt all that good.

2 Likes

It really is satisfying and you can get a printer for the price of a couple bimetals.

2 Likes

I too have issues going through the trick list learning and it’s been over 12 years for me since starting out on unresponsive yoyos. To me the trick list doesn’t matter as much as my enjoyment for throws.