Any thoughts and/or feedback about the Hydrangea Lycoris?

I have no experience or knowledge other than reading the product description from another store.

I understand the Brand has ‘metered out’ small runs of various yo-yos that mostly seem to vanish as soon as they appear.

I recently got a Aquilegia in a trade. It is a very nice Ti yo-yo. It is ‘not’ identical, but is very similar in looks and play as the Ti Wisteria.

Obviously, the favorable feelings I have for the Aquilegia, increased my curiosity about the brand.

The Lycoris retails for $600. It certainly does not have any sort of exotic shape/design features that stand out(to me).

What did stand out was that it isn’t even made from a hard to deal with material, like Titanium.

The specs State the material used is a ‘bronze alloy’(no more specific detail on exact alloy).

So I can only have an opinion more than a conclusion on what I say next>

Bronze is listed as having one of the very best and highest machinability ratings of any metal/alloy…

Since bronze is not as time consuming and machine tools don’t take as much of a beating, logic would dictate that the final costs related to each Lycoris, cannot be tied to difficulty ‘in manufacture’.

So…… here we have a $600 yo-yo that could not possibly be more trouble to make, yet costs even more than their Titanium yo-yos.:nerd_face:

I can’t conclude ‘why’ this yo-yo costs a pretty penny(based on my minimal info), but, I would love to hear form anybody that might say anything positive that might align with their suggested retail pri$e?

Any views are welcome.

6 Likes

The yoyo doesn’t cost 600 USD, that’s an unfortunate markup from a certain specific retailer that has a bad reputation for doing this on their worldwide site. It costs 58,000 JPY which is currently 417 USD. You can buy it for 417 USD in stock right now from other retailers.