A Few Beginner Questions

Hey guys, I’m a beginner player and I have a few questions about things that were unclear to me:

First off, about lubing a yo yo - I have a DM, and I know that you are supposed to lube the bearing, but which part exactly? The bearing is sealed from both sides, and I wasn’t sure whether to lube the outside of the bearing connecting between it and the axle, or lube the side of the bearing and then turn it around a lot so the lube will sink in? Or something else?

The second problem - As I played I soon realized that the string is pretty much eroding my throw hand finger after a while…I’m currently trying to find something useful to pad the finger with to avoid that, any suggestions? And another problem I had with the same subject - I’ve been using the learning section of this site, and looked around at other places as well, and I see no other player who’s displaying tricks that uses any sort of padding, and I’m sure their throws and tricks are supposed to cause much more of that sort of harm…So why do I need to pad my finger and they don’t?

Thanks in advance.

Well, as for the padding question it’s about your body. When I first started, the string just tore the crap out of my finger. As time goes on, your finger will begin to calluse and this will no longer happen.

1. You can apply you lube directly on top of the bearing. The lube will sink into the bearing, there might be other or better ways to do it but that is how Andre teaches you in his maintenance section.

http://yoyoexpert.com/learn/410-maintenance-lube.html

1. This eroding in natural and pretty good. What is happening is your skin is forming a callus , Like Q said. This calluse is like hard skin, and once it is formed the string wont hurt your finger as much. If you start to get cuts just put a band-aid to help heal it. Other players dont use a pad because they have calluses, and it doesn’t really hurt them.

Hope I helped.  :slight_smile: