3D Printer Advice

So I’ve got a birthday coming up in June and I’m gonna pull the trigger on a 3D printer! I have zero experience with 3D printers, but am familiar with AutoCAD. Looking for recommendations on a setup for less than 1000$. I’m probably not going to be printing stuff that is too large, but will require something that can do some pretty good detail.

Any recommendations or advice?

Thanks!!

2 Likes

The first thing you need to decide is what method of 3D printing you want to get into. FDM (filament) or MSLA (resin) printing. FDM is easier to get started with and involves a lot less mess, but the detail and smoothness of resin simply can’t be beat.

If you decide to go with MSLA resin printing, there are a number of good options. I have been using an Elegoo Mars Pro for a year now and have been extremely happy with it. I only use water-washable resin which saves a lot of money on cleaning supplies since I can just use tap water rather than cleaning solutions like Mean Green or IPA (and trust me, you will go through gallons and gallons of it very quickly). If you want something a littler bigger, then the Elegoo Saturn is an awesome upgrade to the Mars.

When it comes to FDM I can’t make any recommendations since I’ve never used an FDM printer. But a quick search on YouTube will surely yield countless videos demonstrating, reviewing, and comparing the many options out there.

2 Likes