YoYo behaviour tech questions

Hi All,

I am new in yo-yoing, just have a classic transaxle YoYo and learned just some basic tricks like rock the baby and other very basic stuff.

As a beginner I have a few technical doubts on Yo-Yos for my next steps, for which I didn’t find any proper clear answer on the web… if you could help please! Many thanks!

1. I see everywhere in their descriptions only advantages (maintenance needing apart) for ball bearing yo-yos with respect to transaxle ones. As their cost is similar, what are their disadvantages wrt to transaxle yo-yos as these are sold as-well?
  2. I saw that for off string tricks, most of the tutorials are underlying the importance of unresponsive yo-yos, so as we can feel free to decide when having them coming back with binding. However, I see that my shop is offering for offstring only a Yomega Xodus II which is detailed as been responsive. What are the advantages and disadvantages in having a responsive YoYo like that for offstring? Is it responsiveness grade anyway less than standard classic yo-yos?
  3. Can we use binding with a low responsiveness YoYo or does it have to be completely unresponsive to allow this?

Thanks all for you me time.

2 Likes

Sorry I am on the road right now. But maybe read this first:

For the most part it has todo with these different play styles. And second the history/development of yoyos over the years.

Maybe watch some videos for 0A-5A on YouTube to see what they are like.

Thanks a lot for the link.
I found there some nice info and I realised I did a mistake while talking about OFFSTRING :wink: I simply didn’t know that the yoyo was not attached to the string !

Anyway I still didn’t find answer to the downsides of the ball bearing yoyos with respect to the transaxle (question 1), and why there are butterfly shaped yoyos for string tricks that are responsive …

Many thanks

2 Likes