What it means to be a pro

Not sure how many of you have seen this, but here are the true words of yo that should be in the Bible.

STEVE BROWN WROTE THIS, NOT ME

Player, or Professional?

I had a conversation with a fellow yo-yo professional recently that really twisted my noodle. He was talking to a yo-yo player, young kid, probably no older than 18 or so, and talking to this kid about doing store demonstrations. The kid looked at him, and said “I don’t do store demonstrations. I’m a professional.”

His comment was that he had never wanted to smack someone so hard in his life. My feeling was that he probably should have done it.

There are a lot of yo-yo players in the world right now. Not as many as there were, say, in the 1950s or 1960s, but a lot. And there seems to be some confusion over just what exactly a “yo-yo professional” does and does not do.

See, a lot of kids have learned almost entirely off the internet. They never saw a demonstrator come to their local store or mall. They saw videos of kids standing on a stage at a contest, staring at their hands, and shredding out tricks as fast as possible to take advantage of the fact that quantity, not quality, is what wins yo-yo contests. So they look at this, and they think this is what it means to be a professional.

Of course, they are dead wrong.

Here is what it means to be a professional, in case you are wondering…

Being a professional means rarely, if ever, doing any tricks harder than the ones you are trying to teach. It means slowing down what you are doing, so that people can really see it…and see it in such a way that it actually looks possible for them to learn.

Being a professional means the knees of your pants get dirty, from spending a lot of time crouched down and trimming strings for kids.