Do you ever just say yes?

I’ve been yoyoing for kids in school (I’m a substitute teacher) alot lately and one of the most common questions I get is “Are you a professional?”

I’m not sponsored or likely to ever be, I don’t own a store, I don’t make my living off yoyoing and I’ve never really even done well at a contest. So usually I get stuck going through a long explanation of why I’m not actually a professional yoyoer. I got kind of frustrated with that recently and just started answering yes.

It kind of makes me feel guilty though. Does anyone else run into this?

Yeah haha

Also sometimes, based on the reactions of people when you tell them how expensive the yoyo is, you just sometimes wanna say it’s $10 or $20. lol

People flip out when they hear you’re throwing around a $160 yoyo.

So true about the money, I’m also sometimes afraid that when I tell kids how much it is they will try to steal it. That luckily hasn’t happened yet though.

i say “almost”.

2 Likes

O say yes. I represent JAMS and i make money off of street performing. So yah

I lot of kids seem to feel I’m a pro or a “master”. I’m far from that. I have a friend who is much better than I am. There are kids doing this who are either younger than me and/or have been doing this less than I have who are better than me.

I’m also not sponsored, but I don’t want to be. I also don’t own a store or business that specializes in skill toys, nor do I want to. This will most likely never be any source of income for me, which I’m fine with, but I swear, any income I make at this I dump back into it. All the money I earn from doing events for yoyo contests, I turn that money back around into vendors’ hands by buying yoyos.

I have more problems with adults questioning why a “grown man is playing with toys”. I’m not concerned with their opinions.

I just say “no” and feel fine about it. When people ask why I do this, I just tell them that it makes me happy, I am enjoying it and it’s fun for rme.