What do yoyoers do to calm down before heading up stage?

I’m doing a school talent show at the end of this week and just want to see ehat others do before getting up there. It was a practice today and I almost forgot my routine. Before getting up I got the sweaty hands and felt a bit of tightness in my body and felt my heart beating. Could be adrenaline but I kept telling myself I’m fine and trying to pump myself up but didn’t stop me from messing up a ton on stage. Whether it be contest or just casual performance what do you do to keep calm or help yourself to output the best results?

I am not a professional, but I think you should act like you’re performing for someone you are comfortable around. Smile at the audience and hide your fear behind it, and once you start, completely ignore them and look at your yoyo. I think it would be easier to do this and slowly ease into actually smiling and feeling comfortable. Don’t take my word on this, take other advice especially if i’m wrong which I might be

i know a few players who get buzzed before they compete… yeah was rather shocked at my first contest.

Just use your nerves as energy. I tend to jump up and down a little and shake my head. It helps a little. Also just remember it’s a talent show it doesn’t have to be hard trick that impress people just the flashy ones.

Great role model here ;). I actually didn’t realize people drank before their performance… At nationals, there was quite a bit of indulging going on afterwards though lol.

I have never performed with a yoyo, but I play out with my band 10-12 times per year and it gets easier each time. I am also not shy, so that helps…

Practice until you are comfortable with the routine, smile and have fun.

The rest will fall into place.

My tips:

Practice a lot some days before until your routine feels natural and gets locked into muscle memory.