WD-40

What’s wrong with using it? It fixes rust. I know that it gets responsive but other that that, WD-40 is a great lube if you put only a little on.

It has residues in it. Residue is bad for the bearing. It can kill a platic yoyo, literally.

I don’t think it disolves plastic, but yeah. WD-40 leaves stuff behind because it doesn’t completely dissipate.

Mostly fish oil. Won’t dissolve anything, but I can see it gunking things up. A little turpentine’ll get rid of that in a jiff! :wink:

I know you’re not supposed to use WD-40 on rubik’s cubes because it melts the plastic (you’re acually supposed to use Teflon-silicon spray), so the same probably goes for yoyos. As for the bearing, the residue probably isn’t good for it like they said up there.
Thin/Thick lube ftw!

it is bad for plastics yes. It will gunk up your bearing but it will take a year or two and a LOT of it to do it. I’ve been using it on one certain bearing for about three months now. Lubing it at least twice a week. Still dead unresponsive and not rust to speak of. It’s also quiet.

once the bearing is gunked up, i wonder if it can be cleaned with mineral spirits like normal and start over again? if it works like that it may be a pretty sweet deal for non-plastics.

Well, if it’s only gunked up, then most likely it will make it almost-like-new. If it’s finished, though, there’s not much you can really do.

so from what ive gathered, i can now clean my bearing by spraying it with teflon silicone and then lube it with trumpet valve oil? and this will work like thin lube?

WD-40 IS NOT A BEARING LUBRICANT

It isn’t, hasn’t been, and never was designed for this purpose.

The same company makes 3-in-1 oil which is great for bearings.