Taxes on Paypal sales?

Does anyone know if paypal sales and or auction site sales need to be reported to the irs for taxes? This is my first year selling on here via paypal and through the auction site

3 Likes

Good question. Iā€™ve never reported them. :thinking:

3 Likes

I am not in the US but normally in the EU it would work like this:
If you have a steadily income from selling Yo-Yos over several month you need to declare it as business. And yeah if it is a business you need to pay tax.
I would assume it works more or less the same in the US.
Normally it is also very much related on how much you make from your normal job and how much from selling yoyos. So if your monthly income from yoyos is significant higher then your normal salary it is a business.

1 Like

Here in TN, if you make over $4000 in a year you have to get a business license and collect sales tax. Iā€™m sure it varies from one state to the next, so check your local laws. But Iā€™d guess most states are pretty similar, its based on a dollar amount, it doesnā€™t matter if itā€™s your primary source of income or not.

3 Likes

If you arenā€™t selling as a business, it falls under hobby income:

You can deduct hobby expenses from the hobby income, so itā€™ll probably come out as a wash if you bought more yoyos than you sold.

9 Likes