Some Kids Have Never Heard of Yoyos

I live in Las Vegas, the weather is still beautiful here. I’m a nurse and I work nightshift and last night/yesterday morning I got off from work, went home, and then went to throw in the local park just because it was 72 degrees, not a cloud in the sky, and honestly just a beautiful late November morning here in Vegas.

As I was throwing there were local little league baseball games going on in the park. Evidently it was some kind of late fall tournament as there were many many teams of kids ranging from around 6-12 years old. Anyway, I’m throwing my Crucial Cupcake and having a great time, a few of the kids are watching me as they’re teams are practicing waiting for their game in the tournament when one kid around 10 years old walks up to me and says, “What is that anyway?” I reply, “This? Oh, it’s a yoyo.” The kid shouts back to his teammates, “Hey guys, he says it’s called a yoyo.” A few of the kids come up to me and out of the 5 or so kids that were standing there watching me throw literally only one of them had ever heard of a yoyo. The rest had never even seen or heard of one before. EVER. Not even your basic dollar store cheapo responsive “garbage” throw. Anyway, the kids and their parents stood in awe of some very basic rock the baby, around the world, thumb/arm grind/anything at all for about 5 minutes before they had to return to their baseball practice.

My point is, as much as this hobby/sport/recreational activity may be growing, as advanced as this tricks and throws may be becoming, we’re still playing with a toy. A children’s toy, and evidently some children don’t know that this toy exists. Spread the word, don’t get too high and mighty and too advanced to break it down and have fun on an absolute basic level. Around the world and walk the dog still blow people’s minds as much as any crazy advanced trick out there. We just need to keep the toy and dream alive! :wink:

2 Likes