Smoothness

So yeah, I’ve been throwing for a bit over 2 months and I’ve really been working hard on it. I’ve been learning lots of tricks and trying to get everything down just right. However, I’ve noticed something after playing back some of my tricks. Here’s what I picked up…

I am very robotic-like when I play. I don’t play as smoothly as many players. I mean, I’m not fumbling around or anything, it just looks weird. My arms are flying everywhere and the string is usually pulled really tight (which I don’t think is bad?) Just so you guys can get an understanding of what I mean, I recorded a quick video of just some random trick. Here it be…

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=KitmRWZoqck

Any tips on letting go a bit? I’d appreciate any help.

Practice more so you can do the tricks easier. That way when you do the tricks you can relax.

Yeah… It just comes with time… The better you know the trick, the smoother you can pull it off…

Cut your string down a few inches and play responsive.

get some swagger and u could go pro man!!! ;D ;D ;D

Smoothness is the product of practice. When you practice enough, your arm sort of develops muscle memory, so you don’t have to think about your movements as much as when you first do the trick. Eventually, the tricks would just flow smoothly without you having to try to make them smooth.

As for loosening up, all I can say is just have fun doing your tricks. If you’re having fun, you’ll be more relaxed rather than being all tense and stiff, so you won’t be very “robotic-like” when you play.

like i said swaga :wink: ;D

I shall say it.

To me, smoothness takes a back burner to presentation.
I mean, if a trick is all chunky and takes thought, it’s gonna be a terrible performance, but if you look up and just have fun, it’s going to be alot more fun for you and the people, and it may not flooow like some tricks, but then again, i think that sometimes we need to just forget smoothness and have fun

1 Like