SFX

I was looking at the blog and saw that a new color way (is that what you call it) was available for the SFX. I was looking at it and realized that I had been interested in it for a while. For those of you who have one, what are your impressions of it? The only other throws I have from YYJ are the trigger DM2 and a fiesta xx. I don’t know if it compares to those in any way, but if they do you have a reference point to describe it to me with. Thanks in advance.

They are great.

I tried one. I mean, it was good, but still just meh. I don’t know, it just didn’t feel right.

So I’m not very good at deciphering specs, so how is it on size? Is it large, normal or small?

Specs don’t mean anything. It’s the subjective feel that actually matters.

It feels large, wide, floaty but easy to control, stable yet corrects easily by your will and stays there. It feels very…dependable. Forgiving. Reliable.

It’s a rather good Yoyo. Very good for 5a, handles horizontal well, and very forgiving on a bad throw.

Don’t know why I ever traded mine away…

I like mine but I hate stock yyj bearings, that may be something to keep in mind I know I am not the only one lol

Hmm, that’s strange. All of my YYJ bearings have been excellent after cleaning or breaking in. I actually like them better than YYF SPECs.

1 Like

The SFX has been my favorite yo-yo for a couple years now. I’ve gotten a couple others since then, but I just keep going back to my SFX.

It’s smooth, not too small or big, has comfortable edges and a big catch zone, stable yet agile for change of spin axis, durable (rings can’t break off or get dinged), and has beautiful color contrasts.

I think the shape is more interesting than the Phenomizm and I like that it’s lighter. Its size is very similar to the DM, but it’s lighter than both versions. If that helps. Haven’t played a Trigger.