Review: GWAY Throws, The DareDevil

First things first:
I’m a novice player, I am still pushing my way into the echelons of the intermediate player but I believe the fact that I’m not an expert gives very important feedback on the yoyo. Also, I bought it with my own money, so this is an honest unbiased review (other than the fact that I love GWAY Throws yoyos).

Ok, that said, this is a review for The DareDevil, the newest yoyo from GWAY Throws… so, Where to begin?
Ah, I know: I’m the kind of player who gets attracted by the look of a yoyo, there are many yoyos that look good and I wish I had them, but I don’t… and yet, I am certainly proud of the ones I have.
It could be the colors (splashes and washes), or the shape, or a combination of both and while I picked a DareDevil with solid colors, they are beautiful. The saturation is rich, the pink half reminds me of bubble gum from my childhood, and the blue half looks to me like dark cobalt. Both colors are intense and have character and they make the yoyo a joy to just look at when it sits on my desk. This specific version of the yoyo has a sand-blasted (matte) finish on the outer body and the inner cup is glossy. Since I can’t perform finger spins at all, I can’t say if this characteristic will impact those tricks, but Nate Martsolf does one on his review so I assume it shouldn’t be a problem.

The logo engraving is located in a position that should not affect your play, and it’s done in a very professional way. Clear, crisp, perfectly aligned, and even on close inspection with a magnifier, I couldn’t find any defect. I know these things are considered a given by today standards, but what makes me appreciate them is that quality wasn’t compromised in order to make the yoyo inexpensive, especially if we take into account this is a craft yoyo.