Professional Players: Flat Bearings vs. String Centering Bearings POLL!!

This is always a debated topic and I am curious what the community’s opinion is on this. For competition use, what type of bearing have you seen professional players use? Flat bearings, or string centering bearings?

I’m Not a pro or a competition player.

So I’ll pass on voting.

But for me it depends on my yoyo some I love a flat bearing in (my majesty and supernova and a few others) and others I enjoy a profiled bearing in (Rally, Yeti, token, lesula, and others).

I find each yoyo likes a different bearing at least for me.

3 Likes

I’m not technically a pro, but I’m a higher ranked player. I tend to prefer a profiled bearing… Something like a CT. However, OD 10 balls throw this preference out the window because I love them so much. Really I can use either and do just fine.

2 Likes

I use legitimate Dif-E-Yo konkave bearings in almost all of my yoyos.

For me there is a real, noticeable difference in both spin time and stability.

7 Likes

I’m not a professional so I didn’t vote either but use ceramic KonKave bearings in my two remaining unresponsive yoyos with bearings. Very noticeable difference in performance and don’t like or use flat bearings very often.

The rest of my yoyos use a fixed wooden axle.

1 Like

Not a pro, but I’m going to chime in anyway. :slight_smile:

Personally, I don’t really like centering bearings in general. They tend to bunch up strings after many layers, and seem to offer similar performance to flat bearings at an increased price. I usually have either a General Yo AIGR or One Drop 10 Ball in most of my yoyos.

I do, however, like centering bearings in certain throws, namely ones with pad responses, or some of my General Yo’s. For example, I like keeping a KK in my Ministar–I feel that the centering properties help keep the string from rubbing up against the pads too much (although I believe this rubbing action is my technique).

1 Like