Originality in casual performances

What are your thoughts on people who mainly perform other people’s tricks during performances, as opposed to trying to create a completely original one?

I ask because I’m generally one of the former. I’ve been yoyoing on and (mostly) off for several years, and never really had the time to create a completely original trick routine when I do casual performances like a local fundraiser or something. I generally do tricks I learned from other people’s performances or tutorials I see online. I do have a few original tricks, but the majority comes from elsewhere.

Learning a trick from a youtube video is easier for me and a lot faster, and generally much more impressive looking than something I could create myself. Although if I do get a trick down, I’ll try to add my own touch to it as well, or incorporate its elements into other tricks.

I’m not referring to actual competitions though, as that would probably be frowned upon.

So what are your thoughts? I’m not trying to pass anything off as my own but it is hard to give credit for tricks you perform. Some of my favourite yoyoers have amazing tricks that I just have to learn and show others though.

In the end we are all using somebody’s elements when we’re doing tricks. However if I were competing, I would probably refrain from…let’s use as example…the Gentry Stein combo you got when you ordered your shutter. It’s slick-looking but at the same time I feel like I’d be trying to impersonate somebody. On the flipside, when working on his trick I decided to rip it apart and “steal” some elements…I mean, I got inspired by some of the elements and am using a couple for a combo I’m working on right now.

In yoyoing, there is no stealing, just inspiration :slight_smile:

i think it depends on the performance.