Newbie Question - Pretty Basic

So, I’m new to yo-yos. I mean I had one when I was a kid, but when I was a kid, ball bearings weren’t part of a yo-yo.

So now I have a very basic, entry level yoyo. It’s a Duncan Speed Beetle. I know it ain’t awesome, but I’m having a lot of fun with it.

I’ve gotten to where I can do several tricks with it, and I’m getting to the point where people who don’t know much about yo-yos are starting to think I’m good.

But now, all of a sudden, I can’t get the yo-yo to come back up when I throw it. It stays in a perpetual sleeper. I believe this is called an “unresponsive” yo-yo.

The problem is, I want it to be responsive (presuming I’m using that word correctly) - meaning I want it to come back up from its sleeper when I give it a little slack.

I’ve watched all the tutorials on this, and no, the string doesn’t need to be replaced. It’s brand new. No, it’s not a non-responsive yo-yo, it’s a Duncan Speed Beetle. They’re supposed to come back up.

I checked the friction pad, and it does seem to be wearing down quite a bit. I’ve used the crap out of this sucker in the two weeks I’ve had it.

But I don’t have any more pads, and I don’t know where to get any more. to be honest, I had to go to five different stores just to find a bloody yo-yo in the first place. These things ain’t terribly popular any more.

Anyway, I don’t have any new pads (presuming this is in fact, the problem), and I’m not going to start paying $20 for the pads I see on some of the sites for yo-yos when the yo-yo itself cost $3.50.

Is there anything I can do to help get the string to bind, at least temporarily? Maybe some sort of oil or something on the pads? I don’t even know how to replace the pads on this sucker - if they can in fact, be replaced.

So I’m hoping someone can help. It’s a very cheap yo-yo. I don’t even know what kind of pad it is…