My Yo Journey

I have been yoyoing off and on now for 25 years. I just found this site a couple of weeks ago and thought it might be interesting to let people know the story.

In high school - 25 years ago - yes I am that old! - I was on the track team. Since I ran the two distance events, 3200 & 1600 meter, my races were on opposite ends of the day, sometimes as much as 8-10 hours apart. We were not allowed to leave the stadium, so the guys looked for something to do that wouldn’t use up too much energy while we waited. We started yoyoing. At that time, the Smother’s Brothers had a new show (it didn’t last long) but there was always a few tricks shown here and there and we’d show up the next week trying to master them. I used a Duncan Butterfly and then sprung for a Tom Kuhn wooden 3 in 1. I was so hooked that I would sneak to the locker room during lunch to practice the latest trick so that I could impress at the next meet. The funny thing is that the ultimate tricks were Trapeze and Double or Nothin.

I went to college and completely quit, but out of school I got a job in a really small community and picked it up again one day. I worked with kids, so I would show them tricks at school. I wanted a better yoyo, so I upgraded to a Tiger Shark. There was a kiosk at the mall and I got offered a job to yo there on Saturday’s because every time I did the dude sold a lot more yoyos. I started getting into looping and two handed stuff. I took my yoyo’s everywhere and the kids at the school started carrying them everywhere.