Lubricating Question

hi all,
I’m new to yo-yo play. I have a question about lubericating the bearings on my DMII yo-yo. I have DIF kon-kave bearings in it. I thought I was going to be a wise guy and throw in some thick lube, play it for a while and then throw in some thin lube to get it back to more unresponsive play. The thinning lube sped up the spin, some what, but the yoyo still grabs and returns when I try to do a plastic whip. Will the thin lube every bring it back to unresponsive or do i need to mineral spirit the bearings and run with no lube?
Any help would be…helpful.
Thanks! Johnny

Why would you put in the thick lube first? Also, how much thin lube did you put in?

If you want, and depending if you put too much lube or not, then you might want to clean the bearing with whatever you prefer (mineral spirits, acetone, lighter fluid, etc.).

However, if you put the right amount of lube in the bearing (one or two very small drops on the shield of the bearing), then keep playing with it. All bearings get a little responsive after some thin lube. Just keep playing with it and let the bearing break in.

I’m not certain how responsive your bearing is but it sounds like you put quite a bit of lube in it. Thick lube can be thinned with thin lube however, if you used a lot of thick lube it will take a lot of thin lube and then it will still be pretty responsive. I don’t usually suggest cleaning a bearing unless it needs it. Therefore, you will have to decide if there is to much lube in the bearing. I’d probably clean the bearing and then add a very small ammount of thin lube. You won’t even need a full drop of thin lube to do the job. Place the oil on a toothpick or let it run down a needle and just place it on one or two balls.

Thank you guys!
Being new and being a lot over zealous I’m pretty sure that you are both correct that I used to much thick. I think the best corse would be to clean it.