Looking for Nylon string that lasts longer than 3 days of intense play

I’ve been using Kitty Fat Nylon for two months now - I love it when it’s fresh out the pack
but after 20 minutes of throwing it just doesn’t hold tension very well…it also doesn’t last very long before it loses its bounce completely. (about 2-3 days of throwing for me)
100% Polyester still burns my fingers after these few weeks so I’d rather stick to Nylon or a blend.

Does anyone have any recommendations for a Nylon string that:

1. Holds tension well
  2. Isn’t too thick (I’m worried too thick of a string will cause the yoyo to snag)
  3. Reasonable longevity (at least compared to Kitty)

Any help would be greatly appreciated! :slight_smile:

3 Likes

haven’t been using it very long but I really like sun shower string by raincity skills

1 Like

I suggest editing the title to “looking for a nylon string that lasts 2-3 days of throwing” or something like that. Just so more interested people can find and respond to it.

Sorry, Internet Dad™ here. I can’t help it. I like it when people can find things.

6 Likes

thanks pops !

3 Likes

OK, in my opinion your issue is that you’re using a hybrid nylon/poly. @smileypants707 mentioned to me that the onedrop long cuts had this problem where the poly would wear out faster than the nylon, causing the whole string to behave… oddly. After experimenting with them myself, I tend to agree.

I think if you want to favor durability, you need to go 100% nylon. Blends aren’t going to cut it, they’ll all suffer from the partial wear-out problem.

Have you tried other 100% nylon strings?

2 Likes

Had no idea Kitty nylon is in fact not 100% Nylon?!?!

What brands sell 100% Nylon? Any on YYE?

Airetic slims might be what you’re looking for. They release drop-style so you’ll have to wait a bit before their next patch.

7 Likes

Thank you!!! Looks like they’re having a sale soon :slight_smile:

1 Like

Oh my bad I keep getting Kitty Nylon 1.5 mixed up.