In need of tips for "String Fountain" (string injection trick)

Hi all,

I saw Rei’s “String Fountain” trick on social media yesterday and decided to give it a try. The mount is pretty simple, as you start in a trapeze, then wrap the string around your TH thumb and pointer and then drop the yoyo onto the ‘cradle’ that you made with the string around your TH. After that, pretty much all that’s left is to perform the string injection.

I understand the concept of string injection, but this is my first time trying to learn how to do it as part of a trick. I can tell Rei does some subtle stuff with his TH thumb and NTH to get the injection going, but that’s where I’m having trouble. I’ve tried it on a handful of yoyos and different string types, in hopes that I’d find a good combination that helps me achieve the injection consistently. While I have been able to get a few ‘baby injections’, at this point it feels more like luck than skill on my part.

Even though I understand what needs to happen for the injection to succeed, I don’t think that I necessarily understand when the setup is going to work or not. In the video, they have a still where they say that the base of the hanging string is NOT on the bearing (NG), which sounds like this is the ‘bad’ position where the injection won’t work. That’s followed by a still showing the hanging string ON the bearing (OK), and that’s the ‘good’ position that will allow the injection to take place.

Does anyone have any tips for this or a different explanation of the good vs. bad setup for the injection? I’m thinking that I don’t fully understand what they’re trying to convey with the good/bad comparison, and maybe I’d understand the situation better with a different description.

Thanks in advance!

4 Likes