I need a newbie looper

I’m new at looping, and I’ve got a raider EX, but after making several spacer, string, and oil changes, I’m still hitting myself with the yoyo because I can’t get it to come back at the perfect time when I attempt a loop. Is there a looping yoyo I could buy that is a little more responsive than the raider ex? Something a little more newbie friendly?

I’d love to have something that would sleep atleast 10 seconds and loop really easy.

im not sure how the Raider EX loops, but it should come with spacers and whatnot to be able to change looping preferences. So - with looping, it really does take practice. Lots of practice. Months of practice. im sure you’re just not used to it thats why you cant do it right. but just keep at it, you will get the hang of it.

I’d recommend a Raider EX.

Looping is a bit harder than it looks.

1 Like

looping is very frustrating when you start. Don’t give up! It will come!!! I’d recommend the macarons… thought i’ve never played them. I have heard good things though

Looping is hard.

My choice? Of what I have, I like the YYJ Unleashed the best. But there is a lot of good stuff, including the Loop360 and Loop808’s if you want to get in cheap. They may not be great, but with a fixed gap, they are “no fuss, no muss” and get the job done.

A couple of things:

Manage your string tension.
Lube!! Thick lube to slow it down, and maybe some thin to break it down a touch. Find your magic formula.

I’ve been working on looping for well over a year and I’m still struggling with it. Some days are better than others. Some people take to it fast, some(like me) are just slow, slow, slow!

What do I have as far as loopers?
Unleashed(x6).
Raider(x4)
Raider EX(x2)
Loop 720(x2)
Loop 900(x2)
Loop 1080(x2)
Loop 808(x2)
Loop 260(x2)
Macaron(x2)

I will be getting some Duncan Hornets soon just to have a pair.

Looping, like with 4A, I’ve found the stuff for the “pros” and competition is suitable for learning as well.