How fast does the yoyo travel?

I was wondering how fast does the yoyo travels when a fast player does a speed combo? 40mph? 30mph?

Never ever think about it, and I don’t think anyone ever measure it.
Really interesting topic though.

Super fast? Saw a video on YouTube saying its as fast as a F1 engine or something like that :stuck_out_tongue_winking_eye:

If you know the RPM and circumference of the yoyo half, you can figure it out.

That’s the RPMs, not velocity

That would only work if it were rolling I think.

What’s an RPM?

Sowwie newbie here :joy:

Rates Per Minute. In a car this would also be known as “revs”, which is what makes the loud. It’s basically just how fast something spins. I think OP was asking about how fast something moves, not how fast it spins
Edit: it’s revolutions per minute, my bad

Oh woah, that’s cool!

Thank you for explaining! Appreciate it :slight_smile:

RPM stands for revolutions per minute.

1 Like

Yea, I made an oopsies

According to Bill Alton’s “Care and Operation of the Noble Disk” newsletter (from the 90’s), the Tom Kuhn SB-2 was measured by CSU’s physics dept with a digital tachometer at 14,700 RPM (just over 100mph, given its circumference). I know that measurement was used as advertisement by TK and I’ve heard it cited by Dale Oliver (who was the thrower measured). ProYo’s were also measured at about 12,000 RPM and No Jives around 8000.

2 Likes

^^That’s fast! It’s a bummer that doesn’t transfer to walk the dog speeds. Or maybe that’s actually a good thing? :slight_smile:

I’m just imagining someone getting dragged down the street with their yoyo pulling them.
We just solved our need for alternative energy for vehicles!

WHOTHEMAN does not support, endorse or recommend THE TURBO TIRES TRES YOYO! We air this for your information.

Are you tired of filling up with gas? Does walking make your feet hurt? Do you wish you could go 55 mph on your wheelies? Well, just listen up because do I have the solution for you!