How do so many people strip their yoyos?

As the title states how do people strip all of these different throws. I’ve been yoyoing for 16 years and have owned over 1000 different throws from every manufacturer and only had one yoyo ever strip. Are people just cranking on their throws or what?

11 Likes

Out of all my yoyos I have only had one strip. I damaged it when I hit the corner transition on a tile floor which took a chunk out of the rim. This throw also had a short 5 or 6 mm axle. Of course it now had some serious vibe, so it became a 5A beater, played it for like another year. I think the axle got bent when it was damaged initially, and I took it apart several times after and eventually it just flew apart with stripped threads. 100% user error, but I still got some play out of it.

7 Likes

Ive only stripped the threads on one yoyo, but I was also unscrewing it after almost every knot I got and its high-fived the floor multiple times. Either the axle was bent slightly or small shavings built up and the threads wore away to almost nothing.

I superglued the axel into the stripped half and have been playing it for the last 6 months or so as my daily beater :man_shrugging:

8 Likes

I’ve owned hundreds from most manufacturers as well. I stripped a Duncan Metal Zero about a dozen years ago. That’s the only one I’ve ever stripped.

5 Likes

It just happens. Sometimes because of overtightening, sometimes just because of the fact of constant unscrewing and screwing back together, sometimes because of poor quality of metal of the halves.
I personally stripped a couple. One was pretty old and i was a second owner of it, so it probably was unscrewed a lot before me, another one had very tight bearing seats on halves - i succesfully dissassembled yoyo a couple of times, but on third could not screw it back together again…
There is a solution thought - stainless steel throws :smiley:

1 Like