Duncan Metal Drifter spacer question

I’m pretty new to yoyoing, and just recently received a Duncan Metal Drifter as a gift. So far, I love it, but wish I could make it a bit more unresponsive.

I did some searching, and everyone says to replace the silver spacers for the wider brass ones.

The only problem, that I haven’t been able to find anyone mentioning, is that it looks like there are NO spacers in mine. It’s just solid metal, with nothing to take out.

Is there something completely stupid that I’m missing, or did they make a change to how they’re made, that no longer uses a spacer system?

1 Like

Mine came with the brass spacers pre-installed and the aluminum ones in a little area that was easily seen through the package, along with the CW. I didn’t get mine all that long ago either. I think around August? Just sitting on the peg.

Did you get this new in the package?

I could see how someone might be silly enough to glue in the spacers, but I doubt it. You can remove one sticker and clean the bearing out using mineral spirits or lighter fluid(see videos on how to clean bearings).

Also, I think the Terrapin X A+ Beefcake Kit or the newer Wide Bearing for FHZ might be options to explore in addition to the other stuff.

I did get mine new in the packaging.

All that came with it was the yoyo, string, and a gold skull-shaped counterweight, but no extra spacers.

I know the Metal Zero comes with brass and silver, but nowhere has mentioned this one (Metal Drifter) as coming with extra spacers… people just say to take the brass ones from another yoyo and switch them out, but there’s nothing for me to “switch out” on this one… Looking down the hole for the axle, it looks to be solid metal, not “yoyo + spacer”, which is why I’m rather confused.

No spacers, the Metal Drifter has a regular bearing seat like most metals.