Creating tricks

Hey! So I am relatively new to throwing. It’s only been about 6 or so months, but I’ve practiced a lot and picked it up pretty quickly. I wanted to try creating some tricks of my own, but I don’t really have any idea how to get started. Any suggestions? I’m pretty lost.

What works for me is starting with a familiar mount or trick and then taking it in a different direction. Hop the yo-yo onto a different string, pass it over a different finger, swing it the other way, etc… A lot of it won’t work, it’s trial and error, but eventually you’ll get something that looks cool and feels right. Just do some different things and see what you come up with, there’s no wrong way to practice new tricks.

2 Likes

to make things up do weird things then go from there.

or

watch a yoyo video and try to mimic a trick but not copy it. there is usually a deviation in the trick there and your style takes over.

This. That’s pretty much what I do…

The hard part is coming up with a name for new tricks ???

Purposely mess up on an already made trick as I like to say. Those mistakes branch off to possibly something new.

www.youtube.com/watch?v=zSkhv9nzhj4
www.youtube.com/watch?v=hs7bL7B2YqY

"Thanks man this helped a lot. You know that time when you first start getting into advanced tricks you don’t know what to do and you get stuck. Well I’m stuck but this is helping.
"
-Zach Gormley 7 years ago on that second video lol.

1 Like

If you’ve learned a lot of tricks, then I suggest trying to combine them in your own way to make combos first. Once you’ve got those combos, start experimenting and changing little thing by little thing.

Another thing I try, if you want to do some tech, is intentionally get yourself into a knot formation (a formation that if you dropped completely would not your bearing or string) and then try to find a smooth, cool way out of it.

Good luck.