Beginning Responsive vs. Unresponsive

I started playing yo-yo responsive. I’ve read that some people started playing unresponsive, and just learned to bind right at the start. I’m wondering how everyone started, and if they feel they have benefited, or created a disadvantage for themselves, as a result of how they began. Also, if they were to teach someone else yo-yoing, how they would start them…responsive or unresponsive.

For me, personally, I began responsive. I think I can better appreciate the evolution of yo-yo play, because I started out responsive and moved into unresponsive play. I consider that somewhat of a benefit, for me personally. I had to grow into the idea of a “bind” to make the yo-yo come back. I grew into the idea now, and enjoy unresponsive play the most.

But, I’m glad I learned the responsive tricks first, because they are a ton of fun. It’s nice to keep a responsive yo-yo around. I still do. Also, I’m curious if anyone went backward, from starting out unresponsive, to going back later and playing responsive.

Please vote in the poll too. Any thoughts?

As a kid when I started, there was only one option. :wink:

In adult life, when I RE-started (“for real”), there was only one option at the toy store. I just didn’t know any better, so it was responsive for me. Stuck with that for my first two yoyo purchases, which could be made unresponsive when I decided to learn to bind (New Velocity, Dark Magic 2).

And I continue to play responsive. Have several fixed-axle throws that are responsive, and a few bearing-axled throws that are also responsive.

I think the styles benefit each other. Playing longer string tricks on a responsive yoyo help me to understand how to hit them cleaner. Some responsive tricks can be translated to unresponsive play (sidewinder after a bind, UFO during fingerspin, picture tricks, etc). But I do like to embrace their differences as well.