Beginner needing some help

I am a complete beginner and got a new yoyofactory arrow elite. It is supposed to be a responsive yoyo, but the yoyo doesn’t come back with a tug. I followed several videos about how to throw properly and the yoyo is definitely spinning. I looked at the video by yo tricks about why the yoyo might not come back but it didn’t help me. The yoyo seems to be doing exactly what he showed with the unresponsive yoyo. The yoyo comes with a wide bearing for making it unresponsive but I did not change the bearing.
Is it possible that I need to lube a brand new yoyo? Can I try anything else? Anything I might have overlooked or am doing wrong?

2 Likes

It is possible the bearing needs to be lubed. Thick lube is what is recommended for responsive yoyos. I bought a couple of Arrows last fall, they weren’t as snappy to respond as I wanted them, a drop of thick lube resolved the issue.

Now, not knowing anything about you aside from you telling us you are a beginner, I have a couple of questions. Does the yoyo never respond to a tug? Will it respond to a big tug of the hand? Remember, guys like André who have trick tutorials have been yoyoing for years, they make everything look really easy (although throwing a responsive yoyo and having it return should be really easy). Maybe the easiest solution is to add a drop of lube and see if that resolves the lack of response.

2 Likes

Thank you for your advice. I will definitely buy some lube and try that out.

It never responds to a tug. It just kind of jumps up and down as I tug on the string. If I pull strong enough and the yoyo jumps high enough I can get the string to wrap around the yoyo with some luck in which case the string binds and the yoyo does come up. I hope that explanation makes some sense.

2 Likes

Your explanation made perfect sense, this is almost exactly what you want from an unresponsive yoyo.

I think a drop of thick lube is the right way to proceed.

3 Likes