Anything that I can use as thin lube?

I started playing unresponsive and I’m looking for anything I can use or make thin lube

1 Like
1 Like

You may not have this, but I used triflow for my yyt atlas and it worked really well!

1 Like

You don’t need lube to play unresponsive. A clean, dry bearing works just fine, adding even a small amount of thin lube can make it responsive.

1 Like

I used to use Al Cass Fast valve oil, because I have a trombone with an F attachment. Seemed to work fine, as it’s very thin.

Now when I use lube (I run dry mostly), my very favorite is the Dark Matter (or a dry lube), followed after a bit of play, with a tiny drop of OD V4M.

The results are quite amazing!

1 Like

Ive used trumpet valve oil before, but i just suggest a bottle of one drop v4m or dark matter if its in stock.

1 Like

Since you mention you run dry, I was wondering what’s the point in thin lube?
It makes yoyos spin quietly, but I’m not sure it’s better for spin time?

1 Like

ppl claim that it helps bearings last longer. It definetly doesnt help spin time, but it does make bearings quieter

1 Like

Ok, like I thought.
So, if I don’t care for the noise, acetone bath and air compressor blow is all my bearings need to keep in shape.

1 Like

I don’t know if it helps spin time, but it seems to, especially dry alone. If done right, even with the thin after the dry, I think you can get increased spin time and a quiet bearing. I just don’t do it all the time, as it’s a bit of a project that I don’t always feel like undertaking when dry bearings play well ,and last plenty long.

I say “seems to”, because I’ve only tested with flick spins, and that may not translate into actual play with a yoyo. I’ve gotten bearings treated with dry lube only, and dry followed by thin both to flick spin for 25+ seconds.