Any physics freaks?

any other sience freaks ?because i am a totall physic freak

8 Likes

I am a retired marine chemist and science teacher…

6 Likes

I’m a science teacher (doing long-term substituting atm). Physics was a part of the appeal of yoyos for me.

8 Likes

I like physics and metaphysical stuff. But I couldn’t keep up with that thread here a while back where someone made a joke about multiple universes and wormholes and someone replied that actually a wormhole doesn’t connect different universes, just within one. So…umm. What now?

I heard the show “A world without NASA” on PBS last night was good, but of course missed it.

5 Likes

I love physics and teach a yoyo physics unit in my Science & Engineering classes (also skateboard physics while we’re at it). Dunno if that makes me a “freak” but it’s certainly fascinating!

9 Likes

Love that!

As a total layman…

Physicists have a responsibility, he said, to be more open and honest about the quantum enigma, which has been called the skeleton in the physicist’s closet. When Kuttner and Rosenblum proposed a course for nonmajors on the quantum enigma, one colleague told them that “presenting this stuff to nonscientists is the intellectual equivalent of allowing children to play with loaded guns.”

The enigma is when physics meets consciousness.

I mean, if that doesn’t get you reading… then look up Feynman. QED, the lectures, the pleasure of finding things out, surely you’re joking… Or maybe Deep Down Things?

As Feynman said, if one could fully understand the dual slit experiment, then one would understand quantum mechanics. Or Dogen, if one has understood the dew drop, one has understood the ocean.

Simply, Observation collapses the wave form into particle form, matter.

Or, as Zen says, What you see all depends on who is looking.

4 Likes