Acetone vs mineral spirits

I am a rookie and whenever i have cleaned a bearing i have been using white mineral spirits. Then, i heard about acetone being another good option to clean bearings in. Is there a preferable one or do both do just as good of a job?

I like acetone more it feels cleaner to me

Acetone since it is cleaner and drys quicker. Also cut through dirt/debris like no tomorrow.

Where is the best place to buy acetone?

nail polish remover, just make sure it’s 100% acetone. Most drug stores or target

Im off to target! Thank you so much! :slight_smile:

no problem :slight_smile:

There’s ONE type of nail polish remover that MIGHT work as long as they’re not just tricking you with their “100% acetone” label (who knows, maybe that’s the name of the product, not a description of the contents!). I avoid the stuff just in case, since most nail polish removers contain conditioners and such.

I don’t really prefer acetone. I’ve tried both. I continue to use both. Both are fine. Although the fumes of acetone are something you don’t want to be breathing a lot of for a long time, in general I prefer the odor of acetone compared to my mineral spirits, so if I’m indoors (kitchen) it’s acetone. But given an area that I don’t have to worry about smelling up (garage), I actually prefer mineral spirits. I read somewhere that the quick evaporation of acetone could actually be a detriment, and I might have believed it. I always feel just a little happier with bearings I’ve cleaned with mineral spirits.

Walmart has itif that’s closer. Paint and hardware stores, and lowes/home depot places…

My dad works at a glass grid factory and after they paint they use acetone to clean up. So he gets acetone in 55 gallon drums. I get some when I stop by at the shop

There is also lighter fluid.

I get the best results using acetone. That’s what I prefer to use.

DO NOT use nail polish remover acetone, it’s got stuff in there that you don’t want in your bearings.