What makes a good yoyo

So for some reason I have this fixed mindset when it comes to buying yo-yos, i am always hesitant to buy a yoyo because I always think there might be a better option that I am unaware of.so how do I stop having that mindset. And can any yoyo do basically any trick? Kinda confused on that.

1 Like

I honestly think there are players who can answer this better than me, but it really comes down to preference and style. Some yoyos have better designs for horizontal play or stronger spin time, but it really boils down to what YOU are most comfortable with.

That is why there really is no “BEST YOYO” . You can try 100 yoyos and next month your favorites might even change. I have fallen in love with yoyos and ended up selling them once I found other options I preferred .

I am only speaking on personal experience. I dont know how long you have been throwing, but I have been yoyoing for maybe 4 months. Over the course of my practice, I have noticed that my preferences change. My favorites change. Sometimes I do better with some shapes over others. At the end of the day …just HAVE FUN!

try new things. Buy what you can afford and what appeals to YOU. Not just what others say to buy. This hobby is all about fun and enjoyment.

4 Likes

Thanks bro I’ll take that into consideration

1 Like

To compare is to despair. These days you really need to try to find a bad yoyo, just about anything produced and sold is pretty darn good. This is where personal preference comes in. You need to figure out what characteristics make you prefer one yoyo over another. A good yoyo is one you want to play with. Any modern yoyo from Replay Pro to Draupnir can do any trick you can do. As some have already said, the biggest differences are certain shapes and weight distributions lend themselves to different play characteristics.