Titanium Experts Chime In

Hey guys! I’m going to be getting a Ti Peak with an interesting back story. It was electroplated purple by somebody, but the finish kinda just…wore off? It could use some rejuvenation so I wanted to see if anyone has experience with this. I’m wanting to see if it’s possible to remove the electroplating and just have it raw and polished? I have zero experience with titanium.

3 Likes

Spark marks too?

1 Like

You could probably get most of the color off with some high grit sandpaper (2000) or some steel wool. You can strip it with rust remover but it kind of leaves a residue that you probably want to clean off as well.

1 Like

I’ve stripped and re colored a titanium yoyo at some point. It just needs a bunch of time in the anodizing acid to strip it. You can do all the polishing you want afterwards, or just straight up polishing it will also remove the color.

2 Likes

That was a special release known as a “Purple Dusted” TiPeak from @jeffreypang911. I would just play it and leave it as is, since the raw versions had a Peak Mountain engraving.

https://www.instagram.com/p/BdYgM_3l_hA/?utm_source=ig_web_copy_link&igshid=MzRlODBiNWFlZA==

5 Likes

Hi I’ll chime in here. I’m the one who has it in their possession. This was originally an AMS peak but was stripped. I traded it and the guy had it customized to mimic the glass dust. It actually looked quite close based off the emails from the company that did it, but it just wore extremely quick. I know the glass dust is highly sought after and fetches $$$ but I just wanted to be transparent and let y’all know that this ISN’T a legitimate glass dust. Cheers!

9 Likes

That is not the same appearance, the one in post is clearly a Raw that is electroplated to Purple to get the same look which can be faded away after use.