Leaning Yo Yo

Hey,

I am brand new at this. I just bought my first Yo-Yo - a Aoda Fraxel.
I am now busy learning how to bind return it, and it is taking some work.

I am just having a problem that the yoyo leans to the side, and then starts spinning funny etc

What can I do to avoid this?

Any other tips for me getting started,
Thanks
Shaun

Idk that yoyo, is it just unresponsive or did u use another bearing to play responsive at first? Cuz if ur starting out yoyong unresponsive i don’t think thats a good idea cuz u need to learn to get a straight sleeper before anything else and if u can manage that it will be very irritating to have to wind up ur yoyo everytime u fail a bind. Plus ur not comfortable with the yoyo yet so it will feel awkward so i recommend starting with a responsive yoyo.

The Fraxel is a quality, stacked metal from Aoda. I’ve got one and like it a lot. It’s a fine yoyo to learn on. Don’t let anybody tell you different.

If you go to the main Yoyoexpert.com page, you’ll see a section on learning yoyo. Look for the video on bind returns. Or look on YouTube for bind return tutorials.

If the yoyo is crooked and losing spin, you’ll have to work on your throw. Throw harder to make in spin longer. Throw straighter to keep it straight. It takes a little practice, but once you’ve got it down, the fun really begins :slight_smile:

It’s most likely your throw if you throw harder longer it sleeps. If your hand is tilted while You throw the sleeper would be tilted.

I recommend buying a responsive yoyo and learning on that. They are overall easier for beginners to handle and they force you to learn and use proper technique. Once you have the throw and a couple simple tricks down on a responsive yoyo, you can move on to an unresponsive. This is the way I learned and I believe it helped me a lot. Using proper technique makes learning tricks much easier.

Thanks for all the advice…

So what is a good yoyo to start with that is responsive?

Thanks
S