Im stuck at this level

I’ve been yoyoing for 3+ months now. I’m trying to learn new tricks, but nothing is working. each time I do breakaway yoyo tricks(skin the gerbil, trapeze), the yoyo tilts toward me. I barely land the yoyo on the string. I’ve only mastered the most basic bind needed. my finger hurts from yoyoing even 5 minutes. I’ve seriously considered quitting. please, if anyone has any tips to help me get better, please tell me.

2 Likes

I don’t know if any of this will be useful to you, but I’ve gotten stuck in ruts like that before. One of my problems is that I continue to do things the wrong way, optimistically hoping that the results will magically change somehow. If I don’t change my throwing, how could it ever improve? Sometimes it really helps to get an outsider’s perspective, so you could video yourself doing a breakaway/trapeze and post it asking for help fixing the tilting problem.

4 Likes

I’m 9mths in and in somewhat of a stagnant place myself, I think it’s normal for that initial burst of enthusiasm and rapid trick acquisition to wear off as time passes, tricks become more complicated and take more effort. It does make it very rewarding when you do get it though :slight_smile:

I’d recommend switching styles, if you’re mainly doing breakaways learn more frontstyle tricks, go outside and give 4A or 5A a try, practice looping, play responsive for a while and try to do everything you know on responsive, grab some wood, look for tricks you think are cool and learn those, look for tricks that build/“combo” off of what you know, look for people whose style you like and emulate.