Declining popularity of this hobby?

I’ve been throwing since around 2008, and it seems this hobby’s popularity has declined quite a bit through the years. Everyone knows about this. It seems like this has happened especially the last few years though, with contest vids and manufacturer videos getting much less views these days compared to before. I don’t think this hobby has successfully transitioned away from message boards to the social media age, even though it definitely could have if things went differently. Anyone have thoughts on this?

10 Likes

I mean Hunter and Gentry have like 1.3m and 800k followers on Tik Tok respectively. Stoney is getting 50k+ likes on Instagram posts. We’ve got vibrant communities on FB/Discord and successful online events even during the pandemic. I think one fundamental aspect of social media is that it’s less about the industry/companies getting the views and more about individual users/generators/influencers with lightning strikes and viral posts.

Bigger question to me is whether the age of “blow this up” tornado binds as the first point of contact for non-players is any better or worse than it used to be or could be.

Generally though I think yoyoing is situated as it’s always been. It’s got a high potential for fad/boom, but its learning curve is self-limiting, especially in an era of immediate gratification.

I think it’s doing fine and I think our ambassadors are pretty awesome.

61 Likes

i think yoyo ‘niches’ are becoming, and opportunities for smaller, less recognized folks and groups are getting being recognized, and becoming more popular outside the typical
mainstream conduits. this has been exasperated (a better word may be encouraged or flourished) by the lack of the typical reach of the yoyo
culture and scene as it has been historically presented (contests and the like)…