Complete Beginner's Guide to Yoyo's

Ultimate YoYo Noob Guide

Hows it going everyone.  Iv been yoyo’ing for about 3-4 months now, before that, all i remember is playing with Yomega Raider about 10 years from now. I got interested in yoyo’ing again after i received a random Duncan Imperial for Christmas. I starting looking around and the more i looked the more i saw the amazing yoyo’s and yoyo tricks and very talented yoyo players that just left me WoW’ed. This search also caused me to ask A LOT of questions, in which i will try and tackle here.

When i started, i found forums, and investigated and learned a lot, Now, i come to find a lot of people with the same questions i had then. I decided to make this to help anyone who has a question.

This is a guide that i will try to keep updating until it is sticky worth, hoping that it will be helpful to all new members that come around

Everything mentioned in the guide is here to describe items. There is no better or worse. It all comes down to personal preference.

If you have any suggestions of things i should add, please PM them to me and i will add them.

Yoyo Styles

-1A - String tricks.
-2A - 2 Handed yoyo looping tricks.
-3A - 2 Handed yoyo string tricks
-4A - Offstring yoyo
-5A - Counterweight yoyo.

First off. Yoyo’s

Types

-Wood
Wooden yoyo’s

-Plastics
Made entirely out of Plastic materials. Eg (Celcon, Delrin, Polycarbonate)

-Bi-Material
Consists of being part plastic and part aluminum, usually, the metal part consists of the rims.

-Metals
Made Entirely out of metal (Aluminum, Magnesium, Titanium)

Shape

Imperial
Butterfly/Wing
Modified

Parts
Axles (Fixed, Transaxle)
Ball Bearings
Counterweights
Halves
Side Cap Bearing
Hubs
Hubstacks/Zstacks
Response Systems
Rim Protectors
Shims
Spacers
String
Weight Rings

Companies

These are the most known yoyo companies. Im sure there are a lot more that i missed, so if you know any that you want me to add, PM me.

YoyoJam
YoyoFactory
Duncan