Cleaning bearing video’s VS real life cleaning bearing

I’m fairly new to the YoYo world and don’t know much about it at all. I have problems with cleaning my bearing and as a good student I’m looking for help. I first used Youtube but when you keep reading you will know why I probably need your help.

My first yoyo is a shutter and I really like it for learning tricks (also because I watch Gentry his video’s and it is his Yoyo). Now he made a video about cleaning his bearing. And I thought to myself I need to try it. So, I bought some mineral spirit and performance YYF lube.

I followed his tutorial (first mineral spirit let it dry out and spin it for a bit) then a small drop (not even a drop) of lube. He said after 10,15 min of playing it should be back to unresponsive, but it didn’t.

The weird thing after a while (1,2,3 hours of playing on and off) it started to be more unresponsive then response, but sometimes when I play it for a while it starts to be response again (I test it with a plastic whip).

Even now it has been 2 weeks since I cleaned it and It sometimes jumps to be responsive again, I leave my yoyo alone for a while and pick it back up and it is back to fine.

You probably thinking you used to much lube! or my bearing wasn’t dry before i applied the lube, ….

Here started my testing: I bought some concave bearing. When they arrived, I tested the spinning on a pencil, it was crazy they spun for a really long time! Then I applied to one of them some lube (I applied it with a needle and put as little as possible on the needle you could see a small droplet) I tried spinning it again and it didn’t spin even for 30 seconds.