A College Course on the Yoyo

I am a university professor, and we are currently designing freshman courses that cover everything from film to podcasts. I was thinking of designing a course that used the yoyo as the “hook” for the course. It would involve having the students learn yoyo tricks and teach the tricks as a “communication” component. Additionally, we would spend time looking at the physics underlying the yoyo, the economics surrounding the early yoyo marketing paradigms, the mythology associated to the origin of the yoyo, the implications of yoyoing as a performance art, etc. I have read Neil Feser’s book, “The Book of Yo” and some basic yoyoing books that talk about the Yoyo fad. I was wondering if you guys know about any other resources. Clearly this group is an excellent resource, and I plan on having them report on various posts (so you guys will receive scholarly citations…that’s intimidating, huh?) But I was looking for other components that might make this really useful. I personally think that the sense of accomplishment of mastering a new trick mirrors the sense of accomplishment one receives from mastering problem solving techniques in many areas. I guess I’m just looking for some advice on what should be included.

I find yoyowiki.org to be reliable.

1 Like

The yoyo physics books are pretty neat if you can find them

There’s a couple yoyo documentaries out there as well

2 Likes

Some old Duncan commercials would give you a general idea also please don’t say the Yoyo is a ancient warrior weapon its not a it was propaganda Duncan created to sell their yoyos. Also Yoyo news has some past articles in there archive that would help you out with the project.

1 Like

Source?

Also I’m not sure if this is good idea, being forced to take up a hobby makes it a lot less enjoyable.

1 Like

I don’t think college courses are supposed to be that enjoyable :smiley:

You should look for some documentaries.

1 Like