Problem with Double Or Nothing (AKA: Do I need a glove?)

I’m a newbie (started 2 weeks ago) and am having trouble with doing Double Or Nothing. Mainly when doing it in the Matrix

I can do the trick well enough, but when I land the string around my non throw hand (I play left handed) the string seems to rub on my index finger and really irritates the skin. I figured I should just get used to it, but then the skin started to bleed. Then when I put a band-aid on it, the string slipped off the band-aid and on to another part of the skin. Where it once again started to bleed.

The odd thing is, the only time this happens is when the string wraps around my non-throw hands index finger the FIRST time. Not the second time, or when it wraps around my throw hand.

So my question is, what is it I’m doing wrong? Is my throw off? Do I need a glove? The string is polyester, do I need something else?

Or am I just a wimp who needs to get over it? :-X

Any help would be great!

You’re most likely pulling your hand apart to space for the second wrap AFTER the string is already around your finger. Because of this, your giving yourself severe rope burn. What type of string are you using? I would work on getting your hand position correct BEFORE the first wrap, and consider buying softer/slicker string. If all else fails, try out a glove ^^ Good luck!

Are you using cotton string? That stuff is pretty rough. Get a 50/50 poly/cotton blend or 100% Polyester string, like Highlights.

I added what string I have to the first post

The string is polyester.

That sounds identical to what I’m doing. How do I keep myself form doing that? Because it seems if my throw hand does not follow the yoyo it tilts off center.

Wow, I should learn to read.

Once the yoyo reaches the end of the string, the throwhand isn’t guiding the yoyo anymore, gravity is. Just let it swing around, and do what you need with your fingers.