Looping?

So I just got my first looping yoyo today (yyf 808 loop) i have never looped before and now a few hours later I can get about 5 consistent loops and it seems like the string tension is really loose after about 15 loops. I know it loosens when you loop but should it loosen that fast?

Mine loosens at about 20+ loops, but it depends how tight the string starts at and what string you use. I use regular poly string.

That’s fairly normal. If you alternate inside and outside loops it will stay pretty much neutral.

Very normal. Learn how to do sidewinder :]

The 808 is too responsive for a sidewinder, gotta throw a UFO :stuck_out_tongue:

I think a sidewinder might still be possible, I believe I can do it on some fixed axles…

It sure is. Do a light throw and you can do it.

I’m still learning to manage 2A string tension. I much prefer my pair of Unleashed. The 808’s aren’t bad, but they don’t feel competitive. I’d say a pair of Loop808’s is a fantastic budget-friendly way to get into 2A. What I also like is it helps kids with small hands do some tricks since it’s so narrow. For example, my son, I bought a Raider for so he could do rock the baby and have a looper. His hands are small(because he was 5) and just could not open it up enough to do the trick with a ONE. Now that he’s older, he can do the trick no problem with a DM2(his biggest 1A throw).

But back to the 808’s, and 2A throws in general. I find if I want to do a sidewinder, I need to do a light throw. If I do a hard throw, the yoyo is way too responsive(any modified shape yoyo for that matter) and comes snapping back at me. If I do a light throw, then I’m down to 2 problems: I either throw it too light(not often) and can’t bring it back, much less do a sidewinder, or in my case, I don’t do the sidewinder properly. It’s all preferences, practice and learning. Keep at it.