Corrosion of anodized aluminum yo-yos

Has anyone noticed, specifically collectors, that anodized yo-yos you’ve had for a year or more develop a subtle corrosion of sorts… intermittent tiny black dots on the surface area of the yo-yo…

Is there any proven method for “polishing” yo-yos that will not in any way damage the yo-yo?

I’m a drummer and I feel like this is a similar question as what cymbal polish/ cleaning method should I use if I want to reduce the chances of removing the logos when cleaning cymbals…

2 Likes

Oh my gosh yes! I was just going to open a topic on this but you said it better than I could!

It’s a difficult thing to take a picture of, but here’s a OD Mantis, not that old, with what may look like dirt on the surface …

… but trust me it is not! Wiping and buffing has no effect on this “dirt”, it’s something underneath the anodization, perhaps?

Anyone else seen this? The Mantis isn’t even that old, it’s from March 2017!

This article may be helpful. I dont have access to the whole thing, but it looks to be relevant.

I did find someone bullet point the conclusions though:

III. Conclusions

● The impedance spectra for the samples that were anodized in the R&D tank mixed acid were very stable during 14 days exposure.

● The impedance spectra for the type III samples suggest that oxide layers are more complex than those for the other samples. The impedance spectra did not change significantly during the 14 days exposure time which suggests that these anodized surfaces were very corrosion resistant.

● The impedance spectra for the production tank samples were very stable for an exposure time of 365 days showing that these surfaces had very high corrosion resistance.

● The very high and stable values of the pore resistance Rpo for all three processes indicate that the newly developed anodizing and sealing processes were very effective.